SC Wave 04 Girls Blue are US Youth Soccer U15 National Champions

by Alison Graettinger

On Sunday, July 28 in Overland Park Kansas the SC Wave (formerly known as SC Waukesha) 04 Girls Blue won the U15 Youth Soccer National Championship! The SC Wave 04 Blue defeated FC Revolution. Dynamo from Wyomissing, Pa 4 to 1. This has never been done in the history of the club! It's just the second title for a Wisconsin team in the 84-year history of the U.S. Youth Soccer National Championships, following FC Milwaukee's Under-18 Girls championship in 2011. 

“Qualifying for National Championships was an amazing accomplishment  for our girls. To leave Kansas City as National Champions is an experience we will remember forever. This team has a special bond and their success is based on much more than their ability to play the game of soccer! Very happy for the team." SC Wave 04 Girls Blue Coach Giuliano Oliviero.

Highlights from Sunday’s Championship match:

“15U Girls: FC Revolution Dynamo (PA-E) 1-4 SC Waukesha 04 Blue (WI)

After falling behind early, SC Waukesha 04 Blue (WI) scored four consecutive goals to earn a 4-1 victory over FC Revolution Dynamo (PA-E). Dynamo struck first in the sixth minute when Taylor Mentzer muscled her way into the box and finished a close range shot on the keeper. Just four minutes later, Waukesha leveled on almost an identical goal. The ball bounced toward the endline and was picked up by Zoe Hevey who walked in from a tight angle and finished her chance. Waukesha took the lead in the 31st minute after a big scramble on a corner kick. The ball bounced around, was saved off the line by a defender and then snuck over the line for the goal and the Wisconsin lead. Waukesha increased its lead heading into the halftime when Felicity Deboer got on the end of a cross and finished her chance. Wisconsin scored the game’s last goal just eight minutes into the second half as Hevey found Budish with a through ball for a goal. Wisconsin took its 4-1 advantage through the final whistle to claim the 15U Girls National title.”